Started in 2009, Carry The One Radio is a series of  interviews with scientists. The show is run entirely by a small group of dedicated young scientists,  graduate students and postdocs at UCSF, who want to bridge the gap between the scientific community and the general public. We value science education and we encourage teachers and students alike to share our freely available episodes with as many people as possible.

Around the 1st of each month, we will post a new interview along with information about the scientist. You can download each episode as an mp3, subscribe to the show via iTunes, or simply listen to each episode directly on our website.

Please consider supporting Carry the One Radio through Patreon or with a donation via PayPal. All of your donations go toward helping us produce more content. No CTOR members are personally compensated for time spent in production. 

For other great science discovery throughout the year, check out out the Bay Area Science Festival's calendar

Check us out on other media:


  • Meryl Horn (President and Senior Producer*)
  • Nick Weiler (UCSF News and Media liaison)
  • Ben Mansky (Graphic design specialist)
  • Nicole Stone (Social Media Director)
  • Peter Chisnell
  • Zairan Liu (Social Media)
  • Sam Hindle
  • Erin Nicole Reeves
  • Lay Kodama
  • Kathleen Molnar
  • Christy Adams (Fundraising)
  • Carmen Sandoval Espinosa
  • Anna Lipkin

(*Senior producers worked on 5 or more large CTOR events or episodes)

Interested in getting involved? We meet weekly at the UCSF Mission Bay Campus in Genentech Hall room S202 every Tuesday at 6:00 pm. Check it out! All are welcome.

Other Contributors:
  • Florie Charles (Youreka Science Collaboration)
  • Nelsa Estrella
  • Keith Foster
  • Kirsten Sanford (Dr. Kiki)
  • Shanni Silberberg 
  • Adrian Smith

  • Sama Ahmed (Founder, President 2009-2015)
  • Bryan Seybold (Founder and Treasurer 2009-2015)
  • Karuna Meda (Founder 2010-2015)
  • Samantha Ancona Esselmann (President, Senior Producer 2015-2017)
  • Lynn Wang (Senior Producer, Treasurer 2016-2017)
  • Demetris Roumis (Founder of "The Fog at Bay" podcast)
  • Ryan Jones (Treasurer 2015-2016)
  • Austin Chou (Organization Management)
  • Theresa Cheng (High School Science Teacher and Collaborator)
  • Carly Van Orsdel (Marketing consultant)
  • Steven Gee
  • Ben Cohn 
  • Liz Unger (CTOR Art)
  • Alex Mendelsohn
  • Amanda Mason
  • Tyler Ross
  • Kate Woronowicz (Founder of "Bone Lab" podcast)